BROCKWAY – Nine seniors who received All-State football honors are among the 64 players who will take the field June 30 in the second annual Frank Varischetti All-Star game at Frank Varischetti Field in Brockway.

Kane Wolves head coach Todd Silfies will lead the Allegheny Mountain League squad and Clarion Bobcasts head coach Larry Wiser will captain the Keystone Shortway Athletic Conference team. The AML prevailed, 27-20, in the 2016 game.

Graduated seniors from the Class of 2016-17 will participate. They were nominated and selected by the coaches of the respective leagues. The AML consists of Bradford, Brockway, Curwensville, Elk County Catholic, Kane, Ridgway, Cameron County, Coudersport, Otto-Eldred, Port Allegany, Sheffield and Smethport. The KSAC is made up of Brookville, Clarion, Karns City, Moniteau, Punxsutawney, St. Marys, Clarion-Limestone, Keystone, Redbank Valley and Union/AC Valley.

The all-state selections are Jarrett Esposito of Brockway, Keaton Rounsville and Davis Gardner of Kane, Justin Kasmierski of Ridgway, Elijah Jacobs of Curwensville, Sam Leadbetter and Mike Macefe of Clarion-Limestone, Carter Dunmyre of Karns City and Dana Logue IV of Union/AC Valley.

frank varischetti all-star football game

Will Staub of Clarion carries the U.S. flag to the KSAC sidelines prior to the Frank Varischetti All-Star Game July 1, 2016, in Brockway

The AML team includes … Alex Daughenbaugh and Mitch Vleminckx of Bradford; Jarrett Esposito, Quade Lundberg, Andrew Trunzo, Hunter Miller, Jake Gorham, Brian Elias and Hunter Antonuccio of Brockway; Derek Rieder and Tristan Reed of Cameron County; Aaron Wolfinger of Coudersport; Elijah Jacobs, Zach Marshall, Tanner Lezzer and Dylan Warrick of Curwensville; Joe Kucenski, Doug Schatz and Jared Braun of Elk County Catholic; Keaton Rounsville, Davis Gardner, Issac Walters, Frank Truden and Austin Labesky of Kane; Grant West, Seth Drummond and Nate Shroyer of Otto-Eldred; Justin Kasmierski, Colton McClain, Josh Raubenstrauch, Ryan Kilhoffer and Jacob Anderson of Ridgway; and Akete Kindle of Smethport.

The KSAC team includes … Seth Ray, Seth Snyder and Michael Fraccola of Brookville; Ty Burford, Jay Remmick and Kyle Patterson of Clarion; Mike Macefe and Sam Leadbetter of Clarion-Limestone; Cullen Williams, Kaiden Powers, Dalton Jones, Carter Dunmyre, Eric Dodd, Jesse Allen and Aaron Hutchison of Karns City; Dalton Anderson, Dillin Anderson and Tyler Kerr of Moniteau; Jared Kespelher, Pat Crawford, Scott Toth, Colten Mohney and Seth Downs of Redbank Valley; Matt Marconi, Nick Williams and Parker Smith of St. Marys and Dana Logue IV, Kody Wolfe, Brad Armagost, Leroy Cratty and Quintin Crissman of Union/AC Valley.

The Frank Varischetti Foundation, with support from the Brockway Gridiron Association and the Brockway Area School District, is hosting the event. In addition to showcasing the best football talent in District 9, the game will award $1,000 scholarships to 10 players.

The game coincides with Brockway’s annual Old Fashioned Fourth of July Celebration. Kickoff time is 7 p.m. Friday, June 30. Tickets are $5 for adults and $2 for children.

Subscribe to our e-newsletter

Get the latest news, events, and travel deals.

Add to Itinerary


You must be logged in to collect content

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This Page

Share this post with your friends!