Brockway-Players from 20 schools in 12 counties, including 12 seniors who received All-State football honors, will take the field July 1 in the inaugural Frank Varischetti All-Star Game.

Brockway Rovers head coach Frank Zocco will lead the Allegheny Mountain League squad and Redbank Valley Bulldogs head coach Ed Wasilowski will captain the Keystone Shortway Athletic Conference team.

Graduated seniors from the Class of 2015-16 will participate. They were nominated and selected by the coaches of the respective leagues.

The AML team includes six players from Brockway, nine from Curwensville, four each from Elk County Catholic and Kane, two each from Sheffield and Ridgway and one each from Cameron County, Otto-Eldred, Port Allegany and Smethport.

The KSAC team includes six players from Redbank Valley, five from Karns City, four each from St. Marys and Union, three each from Clarion-Limestone, Brookville and Moniteau, two from AC Valley and one each from Clarion and Punxsutawney.

The first-team All-State selections by the PA Football News who will participate include Reese Barger of Karns City, Brady Himes of Clarion-Limestone, Jake Shrubb and Shane Rolick of Kane and Dugan Gallagher of Union. Second-team all-staters include Nick Taylor of St. Marys, Quamone Newkirk of Curwensville and Joe Varischetti of Brockway. Honorable mention all-state selections included Collin Dunmyre of Karns City, Landon Forrest of Union, Wyatt Hetrick of Redbank Valley and Zach Tyler of Brockway.

Four players – Himes, Shrubb, Shane Rolick and Varischetti –were also Football News all-state picks.

The Frank Varischetti Foundation, with cooperation of the Brockway Gridiron Association and the Brockway Area School District, is hosting the event. In addition to showcasing the best football talent in District 9, $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to eight players, four from each team.

The game coincides with the 50 th anniversary of Brockway’s Old Fashioned Fourth of July Celebration. Kickoff time is 7 p.m. Friday, July 1, at Frank Varischetti Field. Tickets are $5 for adults and $2 for children.

AML All-Star roster

Brockway: Tony Isabella, Mike Martino, Anthony Zocco, Joe Varischetti, Zach Tyler and Troy O’Brien; Curewnsville: Hunter Johnson, Quamone Newkirk, Jake Terry, Seth Sloppy, Curtis Linsenbigler, Ian Barrett, Jared Bakaysa, Ben Junod and Korie Laird; Cameron County: Austin Doud; Elk County Catholic: Noah Werner, Kyle Schatz, Andy Geci and Kyle Huff; Kane: Shane Rolick, Tyler Rolick, Tyler Weidenhoff and Jake Shrubb; Otto-Eldred: Heath Stewart; Port Allegany: Bryan Stahlman; Ridgway: Dane Cappiello and Logan Brunner; Sheffield: Tanner Barr and Ryan Lemay; Smethport: Brayden Howard.

KSAC All-Star roster

Karns City: Reese Barger, Collin Dunmyre, Neal Barnhart, Jarod Stewart and Austin Turner; Redbank Valley: Wyatt Hetrick, Devin Bowser, Nick Shoemaker, Connor Shoemaker, Aaron Wilson and Devin Schimp; St. Marys: Brady Bauer, Nick Taylor, Nathan Straub and DJ Salinas; Moniteau: Shonn Kline, Derrick Kerr and Garrett Young; Clarion-Limestone: Brady Himes, Connor Keth and Anthony Louder; Punxsutawney: Larry Yeager; Union: Dugan Gallagher, Cole Morris, Landon Forrest and Daniel Roberts; AC Valley: Evan Redding and Brady Terwilliger; Brookville: Logan Thrush, John Davis and Joel Dinger; Clarion: Will Staub.

Subscribe to our e-newsletter

Get the latest news, events, and travel deals.

Add to Itinerary


You must be logged in to collect content

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This Page

Share this post with your friends!